Many have ended up confused with what the difference between vegans and vegetarians are. Today, we settle the score and sort the two out.
What Is Vegetarian
Vegetarianism is a diet term that calls for absolutely no meat. Those who claim to be vegetarian but still eat fish are called pescetarians, which is a common misconception.
While vegetarians don’t eat meat, some of them animal products such as cheese, milk and eggs. Ova-vegetarians consume eggs but not dairy. Lactose-vegetarians on the other hand, consume dairy but not eggs. Semi-vegetarians refer to those who eat animals, fish, dairy and vegetables but not any other kind of animal.
Paul McCartney, Brad Pitt, Anne Hathaway are some of the most famous vegetarian celebrities around.
What is vegan
Vegans go beyond what they consume. Veganism is being considered a movement that consists of not eating meat and dairy as well as animal rights advocacy. They also do not wear leather that is made from any type of animal. Others would even push themselves to not consuming honey and yeast.
Consider it as a way of life, almost like practicing a religion.
There are greater issues surrounding veganism, considering the strong protests against animal consumption and cruelty.
Kristen Bell, Olivia Wilde and Jenny McCarthy are some of the stricter, straight up vegans in the Hollywood scene.
Is it for you?
Like any other diet, being vegan or vegetarian is a big deal. It’s a commitment made by many of those who profess to it and practice it every day.
So if you’re considering going vegan, make sure you have discipline to avoid foods and the support of those around you to help you keep on track. The most important thing is you are healthy and happy.